Olivia Matthews wins Students’ Union presidential race

Olivia Matthews winning - ONLINE Will 3Olivia Matthews has been announced as the incoming Wilfrid Laurier University Students’ Union president and CEO with 72.74 per cent of the vote.

Polls closed at 8 p.m. Thursday. At 11:30 p.m. chief governing officer Matt McLean and assistant chief returning officer Kaipa Bharucha announced the successful candidates for Senate, board of governors, School of Business and Economics Students’ Society president, Students’ Union board of directors and Students’ Union president, in addition to referenda questions.

Vanessa Buttinger will be the new SBESS president.

Eight board of directors candidates were acclaimed at the beginning of the campaign period. The remaining four spots will be filled by Derek Wordon, Ryley Fletcher, Sujaay Jagannathan and Abdiasis Issa.

Kanwar Brar and Trevor Thompson were announced as the successful Senate candidates. Trevor Thompson was acclaimed for the board of governors.

Five out of eight referenda questions passed.

24 per cent of students cast their ballots this year.

More details to follow.


Leave a Reply