All returning directors re-elected to board

Along with the announcement of Wilfrid Laurier University Students’ Union president, early this morning the election results were also released for board of directors.

Despite the voting results coming in at after 2 a.m. many of the candidates waited at Wilf’s to hear the results first-hand from the elections committee.

“It went great, you know,” said re-elected director Chris Oberle. “I was a little nervous at first.”

First-time director Jon Pryce said he was prepared for the late result, and was prepared to follow the group to the 24-hour lounge if it meant hearing the results first-hand.

All returning directors were re-elected. Along with Oberle, Michael Onabolu, Greg Evans and Kyle Hocking received positions on next year’s board of directors. Both Hocking and Oberle expressed their excitement for being re-elected and echoed their desire to run for chair of the board next year.

With those returning come 11 first-year directors, among them Jon Pryce and Chris Walker, who received an endorsement from The Cord this week.

“I was really happy to get the Cord endorsement,” said Walker. “I talked to a lot of people who have run for board of directors and they said the open forum … it’s about getting the Cord endorsement because that way you reach more people.”

With Kyle Walker being elected for 2010-11, Hocking expressed his optimism at working with the new president.

“I think the learning curve is going to be a lot steeper with Kyle Walker than it would have been with Kory [Preston] but I think he’s going to do a good job.…He’s certainly got a lot of experience with the type of leadership role he’s going to take.”

The following directors were elected to next year’s board: Chloe Arbutina, Ted Brown, Jonathan Collaton, Greg Evans, Trevor Faessler, Kyle Hocking, Chris Oberle, Michael Onabolu, Michael Passmore, Adam Payler, Tom Papanastasiou, Jon Pryce, Jennifer Solda, Chris Walker and Seth Warren.