Board members elected

The names of those elected to the Wilfrid Laurier University Students’ Union board of directors for 2010-11 were announced in the early hours of Friday morning at Wilf’s.

Of the 15 elected, 11 will be new, while all four current directors running for re-election were successful.

“I was a little bit on edge about whether or not I was going to get re-elected but it worked out,” said returning director Kyle Hocking, who plans to run for chair of the board next year.
Returning directors will provide much-needed guidance to new directors, especially in the early stages of the board’s transition, which will take place May 1.

Despite the voting results coming in after 2 a.m., many of the candidates waited at Wilf’s to hear the results first-hand from the elections committee.

First-time director Jon Pryce said he was prepared for the late result and would follow the group to the 24-hour lounge if it meant hearing the results first-hand.

“It went great,” said returning director Chris Oberle, who also plans to run for chair this year.

“There’s a lot of important things to do.”

Along with Oberle and Hocking, returning directors Michael Onabolu and Greg Evans also received positions on next year’s board of directors.

Among the first-year directors will be Chris Walker, who received an endorsement from The Cord last week.

“I was really happy to get the Cord endorsement,” said Walker.

“I talked to a lot of people who have run for board of directors and they said the open forum … it’s about getting the Cord endorsement because that way you reach more people.”

Some directors worked with presidential candidates on both their platforms and throughout the rest of the election period, and many were visibly pleased after it was announced that Kyle Walker was elected as the WLUSU president for 2010-11.

“I think the learning curve is going to be a lot steeper with Kyle Walker than it would have been with Kory [Preston] but I think [Walker is] going to do a good job,” said Hocking. “He’s certainly got a lot of experience with the type of leadership role he’s going to take.”

The incoming board of directors will meet tonight at 10:30 p.m. to elect their chair for the 2010-11 year.

alt text

Numbers not yet final

The number printed in the graph are not officially final, as the elections committee has not finished counting the ballots.

Check The Cord on Feb. 24 for a breakdown of votes for president and board of directors based on faculties.