Senate elected, BOG acclaimed


The student representatives elected for the 2010-12 senate were announced last Thursday along with the rest of the election results.

Students voted during the day to choose five incoming members from a possible six candidates.

Chris Walker, Alishia Mallory, Ted Brown, Mike Alfieri and Emily Slofstra were voted in, while Omar Shah, who was acclaimed for the board of governors, was not. There was only one available student seat on the board of governors this year.

“I’m really excited about the chance to represent Laurier,” said Walker, who was also elected to the students’ union board of directors.

“I want to advocate for students, I want to lobby for students on an aggressive level,” said Walker.

“Those issues include Internet access, OneCard issues and environmental sustainability. Those are the things that I ran on … and those are the things I really feel passionate about.”

The senate deals with the educational policy in place at Laurier and works with the board of governors in relation to the operation of the university.

These five undergraduate members will have the opportunity to sit on some of the 12 committees the senate has available and will provide a student voice at approximately eight meetings held during the year.

Serving the Waterloo campus, The Cord seeks to provide students with relevant, up to date stories. We’re always interested in having more volunteer writers, photographers and graphic designers.