Athletes inducted into Laurier Hall of Fame


Erica Howard gives her acceptance speech at this year's Hall of Fame induction ceremony. (Photo by Heather Davidson)
Erica Howard gives her acceptance speech at this year’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony. (Photo by Heather Davidson)

It’s something Brian Devlin will never forget.

Being part of the 2005 Vanier Cup football team for Wilfrid Laurier University is forever etched into his mind. Being the kicker that won the Vanier Cup for Laurier is there too. And by being inducted into Laurier’s Hall of Fame Friday night, he’s forever etched into Laurier’s history.

“Sometimes I think back and wonder ‘what if I missed?’” Devlin said.

“It gets me sick to my stomach. I just remember the kick going in after leaving my foot. The build up to it I don’t really remember because you’re in that zone. After it leaving my foot, I can still see it going in.”

Devlin joins four other athletes, one builder and a team, Friday night that were inducted into Laurier’s Hall of Fame at the Laurier’s Senate and Board Chamber.

Two additional members of the 2005 Vanier Cup team were inducted, including Anthony Maggiacomo and Scott Evans. Maggiacomo was a linebacker from 2003-07 and is a two-time Yates Cup champion. He was awarded Laurier’s President’s Award for top male athlete in 2007.

Evans was an offensive lineman from 2003-08. He won Ontario University Athletics (OUA) first-team all-star three times and was the Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) winner of the J.P. Metras Trophy for Lineman of the Year in 2007.

“The 2005 team was a special team,” Devlin said. “Seeing the things we had to endure on and off the field for those three years from 2003 to 2005. To see those guys every day in practice and see how well they were at executing plays, I’m not surprised we went undefeated that year.”

Erica Howard from lacrosse and Bill Francis from curling were the last two players to be inducted. Howard won four OUA championships from 2003-06 and was named the conference’s most valuable player in 2004 when she finished fifth in scoring and helped Laurier to an undefeated record.

Francis curled for five years starting in 2003-04. He helped Laurier win their first CIS championship in his final year and won two OUA championships. Francis went on to represent Canada at the FISU games in 2009, finishing sixth. He is also the first men’s curling athlete to enter the Hall of Fame.

“I wouldn’t trade those Laurier years for anything,” Francis said. “I had the best time here and coming back for a fifth year and having it be such a memorable year. To be able to win as one great big team and to be able to represent our country was absolutely amazing and just the experience that we had was fantastic.”

Rounding out the inductees was Dean Boyles for his contribution to swimming.

He was a three-time OUA coach of the year and coached athletes to four different Olympic games. Boyles also saved the pool by helping to raise the necessary funds to renovate it in 2008.

Finally, the 2001-02 women’s hockey team enters after being the first women’s hockey team to medal at the CIS championship. The team’s record was 19-0-1 and they defeated the Toronto Varsity Blues in the final of the OUA. In a tough game against the Alberta Pandas at nationals, Laurier finished with a silver medal.

“It’s hard to put it into words when you look at the list of all of the other athletes that have been inducted at this school,” Devlin said. “It’s a great school for as long as they’ve had sports here. It’s thrilling coming back. It’s another reason to come back.”

Leave a Reply

Serving the Waterloo campus, The Cord seeks to provide students with relevant, up to date stories. We’re always interested in having more volunteer writers, photographers and graphic designers.