Laurier Student Life Levy committee members instated

This past Saturday, in their first meeting of the year, the Wilfrid Laurier University Students’ Union board of directors voted and instated the members who are to sit on both the Brantford and Waterloo Student Life Levy committees.

The Student Life Levy strives to support and fund special projects which enhance student life. Any Laurier student can submit an application for funding to make their idea or project a reality.

The Student Life Levy Committee will then accept and fund the projects that they feel increase opportunity for Laurier students or help create a more positive environment.

The Students’ Union Board nominated five members for the Brantford Student Life Levy Committee: director Shannon Kelly, director Genelle Martin, vice-chair Nick Molkoski, director Faraz Iftekharuddin and director Matt DeSumma.

DeSumma, the only nominee from the Brantford campus, was automatically acclaimed to the Brantford SLL committee.

The four other nominees were given a chance to state their thoughts and opinions as to why they would be best suited for the position on the committee.

Board members, vice-president of university affairs, Colin Aitchison and Students’ Union president, Tyler Van Herzele were given the opportunity to pose questions to the nominees.

The candidates were asked various questions regarding their qualifications, visions for the committee and potential ideas and changes which they hope to implement in the coming year.

In general, the four candidates seemed to state that their goal was to make the Brantford SLL Committee more visible to students and ensure that the committee’s work benefits the entire Laurier community.

Many nominees mentioned enhancing marketing and social media to ensure the SLL is more widely known by Laurier students, especially given that last year was the Brantford campus’ first year using the fund.

Kelly and Molkoski were the two elected nominees for the Brantford SLL Committee.

The Board also nominated and acclaimed Kelly, Lee, Martin and Molkoski to Laurier’s Waterloo Student Life Levy committee.

Leave a Reply