LSPIRG elects board of directors


Laurier Students’ Public Interest Research Group (LSPIRG) held their annual general meeting on Thursday and elected a new board of directors for the upcoming year.

Three community directors were acclaimed – Kevin Sutton, Doug Roberts and Ravi Gokani.

There were seven candidates running for the six student director positions.

Morgan Alan was the only director to campaign for re-election and received a seat.

“It’s a pretty interesting make up for the board this year, there’s a lot of fresh faces on the board which ultimately is good for the organization,” said Alan.

“The board is a great place to start off in LSPIRG.”

He is accompanied by Laura Adelman, Kathryn Atkinson, Casey Hawkins, Zabeen Khamisa and Terrence Saulnier.

Sean Gallagher was the seventh candidate running, and despite not obtaining a seat on the board he showed his support for those who were elected.

“I think that everyone who was elected, the people that got on the board, will be great,” said Gallagher.

Serving the Waterloo campus, The Cord seeks to provide students with relevant, up to date stories. We’re always interested in having more volunteer writers, photographers and graphic designers.